In 1938, the brothers Hermann and Wilhelm Schmidt founded the company to supply high-precision parts to the clock industry, the most typical of Black Forest industries at that time. The entry of Hans Schmidt into the business in 1952 gave the small company the impetus it required to transform itself into a full-scale industrial enterprise and to undertake the decisive move away from the clock industry to the manufacture of writing instruments.

In 1969, Rolf Schmidt became Managing Director with special responsibility for technology and has played an important part in the continuing development of the company ever since. The changes initiated within the company not only assured its survival during the structural transformation of the seventies, but also created the new business division Machines (1964) in 1964. The production of writing systems with their tiny tolerances demands highly accurate machinery and equipment. As these were not available on the market in the type and quality required, SCHMIDT Technology was forced to develop and build them itself.

This "department", originally intended to supply the company's own requirements, has grown into a self-confident and highly successful division of SCHMIDT Technology, which has gained a reputation all of its own on the world market.

The Sensor division was created in 1983 to produce a piezoelectric acceleration sensor for use as the triggering element in the belt-tightening mechanism in cars. This was a product which could only be manufactured by specialists guaranteeing highest precision in large quantities over long periods of time. This field has been occupied by electronics and microsystems technology for years now, which has given rise to new highly complex sensor systems.

The fourth generation of the SCHMIDT family is working in the company in responsible management position for many years now.

     
 
Datenschutz

Die Brüder Hermann und Wilhelm Schmidt gründeten 1938 das Unternehmen als Zulieferer von Präzisionsteilen für die Uhrenindustrie, die damals typische Industrie im Schwarzwald. Durch den Eintritt von Hans Schmidt im Jahr 1952 erfuhr das kleine Unternehmen die entscheidenden Impulse: Die Umwandlung in einen Industriebetrieb und - was sich später als visionär herausstellen sollte - weg von der Uhrenindustrie, hin zur Herstellung von Schreibgerätetechnik.

1969 trat Rolf Schmidt in das Unternehmen als Geschäftsführer Technik ein und wirkt seither wesentlich an der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung mit. Die neue Orientierung sicherte nicht nur das Überleben während des Strukturwandels der siebziger Jahre. Sie schuf auch mittelbar die neuen Unternehmensbereiche Maschinen (1964): Die Herstellung der Schreibsysteme mit ihren minimalen Toleranzen erforderte hochpräzise Maschinen und Anlagen. Da diese in der von SCHMIDT Technology geforderten Qualität und Ausführung am Markt nicht zu finden waren, wurden sie im Haus selbst entwickelt und produziert.

Aus dieser ursprünglichen "Zuliefer-Abteilung" für den Eigenbedarf ist längst ein selbstbewußter und erfolgreicher Unternehmensbereich geworden, der sich weltweit am Markt einen Namen gemacht hat.

Der Unternehmensbereich Sensorik entstand 1983 mit einem piezoelektrischen Beschleunigungssensor, der als Auslöseelement für den Gurtstraffer im Automobil Verwendung fand. Ein Produkt, das nur von Spezialisten hergestellt werden konnte, die höchste Präzision in großen Stückzahlen über lange Zeiten konstant halten können. In diesem Bereich hat längst die Elektronik und Mikrosystemtechnik Einzug gehalten, die zu neuen, hochkomplexen Sensorsystemen führten.

Seit einigen Jahren ist die vierte Generation der Familie Schmidt in verantwortlicher Position im Unternehmen tätig.

     
 
Datenschutz